All Posts By

Sport Aide

For everyone
5 December 2018

The Quebec sports system carried by volunteers

On this volunteers action day in Quebec, Sport’Aide would like to highlight the commitment of thousands of people without whom the Quebec sports system would simply collapse. Their contribution is so essential in a sports organization that it is difficult to quantify the importance of all these contributions. Nevertheless, in a report presented to Sport Québec in 2010, professionals pored over the question and based on information provided by sports federations, they succeeded in quantifying the contributions. They evaluated that, in 2010, more than 65,000 volunteers acted as coaches and more than 1,000 volunteers were administrators. In total, they counted 112,254 volunteers operating in federated sports. More concretely, this amounts to 17 million hours devoted by coaches! Impressive figures which…
Read More
Sportive
26 November 2018

What happens when I call Sport’Aide?

You have gathered your courage and you are finally going to dial 1-833-245-HELP (4357). You have been thinking about it for a long time. Maybe it was after you saw the Sport'Aide number on the gymnasium poster, on YouTube or on Instagram? Maybe it was since you spoke to a friend or teammate who advised you to call – it doesn’t matter – that you have been wondering: “Should I call? What will they think? What can they do for me? Who’s going to answer?” These are all legitimate questions, but rest assured, the Sport'Aide team is opening its door right now to show you its secret! When you call the Sport'Aide toll-free line, there will always be a counsellor…
Read More
For everyone
15 November 2018

Looking for help?

When you contact the Sport’Aide team, someone will be there to listen to you, support you and advise you according to your situation. That said, there are also complementary services to help you according to different situations. Do not hesitate to use them!   I am a victim of sexual violence … I have witnessed sexual violence… Sexual violence can take many forms and may or may not include physical contact. Sexual harassment is the subtlest type and can come in the form of words, acts or behaviours of a sexual nature. If you believe you are a victim or if you witness sexual violence, contact the CALACS in your region or the Ligne d’écoute, d’information et de référence pour les…
Read More
For everyone
30 October 2018

The responsible parent’s charter

There we are! Your child absolutely wants to swim in his best friend’s swimming club. What should you consider before signing him up for the season? What questions should you ask the organization to ensure your child’s security and a positive practice of his sport? Policies and procedures Does the organization have a prevention policy for the protection of children, displayed and easily accessible? All sports organizations must provide a child protection policy. This policy must include a clear procedure to manage any situation involving misbehaviour or any risk of abuse (physical, psychological and/or sexual). If such measures do not exist, invite the organization to implement various preventive measures. To learn more, Sport’Aide invites you to go to Sportbienetre.ca. Does…
Read More
For everyone
18 October 2018

Alain Fortier – From victim to resilient!

Today, Sport’Aide introduces Alain Fortier, who recently shared his story with us as a victim of sexual assault. Frank and direct, this father of two children who has had a career in financing for some twenty years, exposed us to the vision and path of a victim who has been able to give a whole other meaning to his assaults over the years. Resilience fulfilling a mission “Peppered with highs and lows, this was not an easy process by any means. At the same time, it allowed me to learn a great deal about myself and come out stronger,” states the founder of VASAM (victimes d’agressions sexuelles au masculin – TRADUCTION: male victims of sexual assault). Far from positioning himself as…
Read More
Sportive
10 October 2018

Student athletes and mental health: an unknown reality

In Quebec, almost 165,000 youths practice a support at an academic level in conjunction with their studies. Student athletes are often under strong pressure, which can become heavy for a young person anxious to succeed at school, perform in the sport and find time for their social and family life. How athletes deal with these different stressors is a determining factor in their mental health and athletic achievement (Rice, Purcell, De Silva, Mawren, McGorry, & Parker 2016). Indeed, in the general population, one person in five will suffer from a mental health problem in their lifetime, and athletes are no exception (Gulliver, Griffiths, Christensen, 2012). The most common psychological problems for student athletes include depression, anxiety, eating disorders, attention deficit…
Read More
For everyone
5 October 2018

“Sport’Aide: an inspiring model” – Tine Vertommen, Ph.D.

As you may have recently read on our blog, it is with great joy that we received Tine Vertommen on September 18. If you don’t know Ms. Vertommen, not only is she a great researcher in the field of violence in sport, but she is also very inspiring. During the afternoon that we spent with her, we took the opportunity to discuss what is done in our respective countries to protect our young athletes. Her first observation was on the Canadian and Quebec political will to address the problem of violence in a sport environment. “I love your Minister for Sport,” she launches, showing a photo of Minister on the screen. “It is with people like her that we succeed…
Read More
For everyone
24 September 2018

An international authority visits Sport’Aide: Tine Vertommen, Ph.D.

As part of her visit to Quebec City on September 18 for her presentation at Laval University: “Interpersonal violence against children in sport: what do we know?”, Tine Vertommen absolutely wanted to visit us to learn more about Sport’Aide. “No other organization like Sport’Aide exists anywhere else in the world. It is therefore very interesting to be able to talk with you to see the benefits of such a body,” Vertommen explains. But to be fair, we were quite excited to receive this great academic who has inspired the work of Sport’Aide from its very beginnings. Sylvie Parent of the Department of Physical Education at Université Laval does not hesitate to qualify Vertommen as an “international authority in her field…
Read More
Sportive
14 September 2018

If I had to do it over again… I would start tomorrow morning!

Today, I am addressing the athlete in you who spends many hours perfecting their techniques, as sharp as they are. I would like to share with you an experience that I had. I sincerely hope that after having read this text, my message will stay in your memory and you can use it as you see fit. I spent all five years of high school in a sports-study program. Like we both know, being in a sports-study program is not just about spending two hours a day doing a sport. In reality it involves many more sacrifices. Being in a sports-study program means that your lunch hour is shortened and that you have to eat fast because you have to…
Read More
For everyone
5 September 2018

The humiliating season of initiations – A text by Jean-Luc Brassard

A close collaborator of Sport’Aide and Ambassador for Good Sportsmanship, Jean-Luc Brassard wanted to take advantage of the beginning of the school and sports year to express his opinion as to the phenomenon of initiations which comes back at the beginning of each season. Enjoy! It comes back in force each year, and like the song says, it no longer makes anyone laugh. In the era of #MeToo, initiations, whether academic, sports-related or other, are no longer acceptable in our society where everyone is entitled to the most basic respect. Who can explain to me how a university that boasts it is forming tomorrow’s elites, accepts that a student’s first steps between its walls are accompanied by a public humiliation,…
Read More

All Posts By

Sport Aide

Pour tous
5 décembre 2018

Le système sportif québécois porté par les bénévoles

En cette journée de l’action bénévole au Québec, Sport’Aide souhaite aujourd’hui souligner l’engagement de milliers de personnes sans lesquelles le système sportif québécois s’écroulerait. Leur apport est si essentiel dans l’organisation sportive qu’il est difficile de quantifier l’importance de toutes ces contributions. Néanmoins, dans un rapport présenté à Sport Québec en 2010, des professionnels se sont penchés sur la question et à partir d’informations fournies par les fédérations sportives, ils sont arrivés à quantifier le tout. On évaluait donc, en 2010, à plus de 65 000 bénévoles qui agissent comme entraineurs et plus de 1 000 bénévoles comme administrateurs. Au total, on dénombrait 112 254 bénévoles œuvrant dans les sports fédérés. Plus concrètement, on parle de 17 millions d’heures consacrées…
Lire l’article
Sportifs
26 novembre 2018

Qu’est-ce qui se passe lorsque j’appelle chez Sport’Aide?

Voici que tu prends ton courage à deux mains et que tu composes enfin le 1-833-211-AIDE(2433). Tu y réfléchissais depuis longtemps. C'est après avoir vu le numéro de Sport'Aide sur l'affiche au gymnase, sur YouTube ou sur Instagram? Peut-être est-ce depuis que tu as parlé avec un ami ou un coéquipier qui t'a conseillé d'appeler - peu importe - que tu te demandes : « Si je devrais appeler? Que vont-ils penser? Que peuvent-ils faire pour moi? Qui me répondra? ».  Toutes ces questions, elles sont légitimes, mais rassure-toi l'équipe de Sport'Aide t'ouvre sa porte à l'instant afin de te livrer son secret! Lorsque tu appelles à la ligne sans frais de Sport'Aide, ce sera toujours un ou une intervenant(e) qui…
Lire l’article
Pour tous
15 novembre 2018

Tu cherches de l’aide?

En contactant l’équipe de Sport’Aide, quelqu’un t’écoutera, t’accompagnera et te conseillera selon la situation que tu vis. Cela dit, selon les différentes situations, il existe aussi des services complémentaires pour t’aider.  Alors n’hésite pas!   Je suis victime de violence sexuelle … Je suis témoin de violence sexuelle… Les violences sexuelles peuvent prendre diverses formes et inclure ou non des contacts physiques. Le harcèlement sexuel est la forme la plus subtile et peut se témoigner par des paroles, des gestes ou des comportements à caractère sexuel. Si tu penses être victime ou si tu es témoin de violence sexuelle, contacte les CALACS de ta région ou la Ligne d’écoute, d’information et de référence pour les agressions sexuelles : 1-888-933-9007   J’ai des…
Lire l’article
Parents
30 octobre 2018

La charte du parent responsable

Voilà! Votre enfant veut absolument nager dans le club de natation de son meilleur ami. Que devez-vous alors considérer avant de l’inscrire pour la saison? Quelles questions devez-vous poser à l’organisation pour assurer la sécurité de votre enfant et une pratique positive de son sport? Politiques et procédures Est-ce que l’organisation a une politique de prévention pour la protection des enfants, affichée et facilement accessible? Toute organisation sportive doit fournir une politique pour la protection des enfants. Cette politique doit inclure une procédure claire pour gérer une situation de mauvaise pratique ou tout risque d’abus (physique, psychologique et/ou sexuel). Si de telles mesures sont inexistantes, invitez l’organisation à instaurer différentes mesures de prévention. Pour en savoir plus, Sport’Aide vous invite…
Lire l’article
Pour tous
18 octobre 2018

Alain Fortier – De victime à résilient !

Sport’Aide vous présente aujourd’hui Alain Fortier qui nous a récemment partagé son histoire comme victime d’agression sexuelle. Franc et direct, ce père de deux enfants qui œuvre dans les finances depuis une vingtaine d’années, nous a exposé la vision et le parcours d’une victime qui a su au fil des années donné un tout autre sens à ses agressions. La résilience au service d’une mission « Ponctué de hauts et de bas, ce processus ne fut pas de tout repos et m’a néanmoins permis d’apprendre beaucoup sur moi-même et d’en ressortir plus fort », amorce celui qui a fondé le VASAM (victimes d’agressions sexuelles au masculin). Loin de se positionner en victime, ce dernier en a donc fait une démarche…
Lire l’article
Sportifs
10 octobre 2018

Étudiants-athlètes et santé mentale : une réalité méconnue

Au Québec, près de 165 000 jeunes pratiquent un sport au niveau scolaire parallèlement à leurs études. Les attentes sont souvent très élevées envers les étudiants-athlètes, ce qui peut devenir lourd pour un jeune pressé de réussir à l'école, de performer dans le sport et d'accorder du temps à sa vie sociale et familiale. La façon dont les athlètes font face à ces différents stresseurs est notamment déterminante pour leur santé mentale et leur réussite sportive (Rice, Purcell, De Silva, Mawren, McGorry, & Parker 2016). En fait, dans la population générale, une personne sur cinq souffrira d’un problème de santé mentale au cours de sa vie, et les athlètes n’y font pas exception (Gulliver, Griffiths, Christensen, 2012). Les problèmes psychologiques…
Lire l’article
Pour tous
5 octobre 2018

“Sport’Aide: un modèle inspirant” – Tine Vertommen, Ph.D

Comme vous l’avez peut-être lu récemment sur notre blogue, c’est avec une grande joie que nous avons reçu Tine Vertommen le 18 septembre dernier. Si vous ne connaissez pas madame Vertommen, rappelons qu’elle est non seulement une grande chercheure dans le domaine de la violence en milieu sportif, mais elle aussi une personne inspirante. Durant cet après-midi que nous avons passé avec elle, nous en avons profité pour discuter de ce qui se fait dans nos pays respectifs en matière de protection de nos jeunes athlètes. Son premier constat portait sur la volonté politique canadienne et québécoise de s’attaquer au problème de la violence en contexte sportif. « J’adore votre ministre des sports, lance-t-elle en affichant une photo de la…
Lire l’article
Pour tous
24 septembre 2018

Une sommité internationale rend visite à Sport’Aide : Tine Vertommen, Ph.D

Dans le cadre de sa visite à Québec le 18 septembre dernier pour sa présentation à l’Université Laval : « Interpersonal violence against children in sport: what do we know? » (Traduction libre : La violence interpersonnelle perpétrée contre les enfants en sport : ce que l'on sait?), Tine Vertommen voulait absolument nous rendre visite pour en savoir plus sur Sport’Aide. « Il n’existe pas d’organisation similaire à Sport’Aide ailleurs dans le monde. Il est donc très intéressant de pouvoir échanger avec vous pour voir les avantages d’une telle instance », explique Vertommen. Mais pour dire vrai, c’est plutôt nous qui étions emballés de recevoir cette grande universitaire qui inspire les travaux de Sport’Aide depuis nos tout débuts. Sylvie Parent…
Lire l’article
Sportifs
14 septembre 2018

Si c’était à refaire… je referais tout ça demain matin!

Aujourd’hui, je m’adresse à l’athlète en toi qui passe beaucoup d’heures à peaufiner ses techniques, aussi pointues soient-elles. J’ai envie de partager avec toi l’expérience que j’ai vécue. J’espère sincèrement qu’après avoir lu ce texte, mon message te restera en mémoire et que tu puisses en faire usage comme bon te semble. J’ai passé les cinq années de mon secondaire dans un programme sport-études. Être dans un programme sport-études, tu le sais comme moi, ne se résume pas à passer deux heures de ta journée à faire un sport. La réalité implique bien plus de sacrifices. Être dans un programme sport-études, ça signifie que ton heure de dîner est écourtée et que tu doives manger en vitesse parce que tu…
Lire l’article
Pour tous
5 septembre 2018

L’humiliante saison des initiations – Un texte de Jean-Luc Brassard

Proche collaborateur de Sport’Aide et Ambassadeur de l’esprit sportif, Jean-Luc Brassard souhaitait profiter de la rentrée scolaire et sportive pour exprimer son opinion quant au phénomène des initiations qui revient à chaque début de saison. Bonne lecture!   Elle revient en force à chaque année, et comme dirait la chanson, elle ne fait plus rire personne. À l’époque des #MeToo, les initiations scolaires, sportives ou autres n’ont plus leur place dans notre société où chacun a droit au respect le plus élémentaire. Qui peut m’expliquer qu’une université claironnant la formation des élites de demain, accepte que les premiers pas d’un élève entre ses murs soient accompagnés d’une humiliation publique, celle-ci appelée initiation, et de surcroit perpétrée par des «anciens» qui…
Lire l’article